“Be very careful, things won’t be pleasant” – Nelson Defeamekpor cautions Nana Akufo Addo’s Ministerial nominees

Hon. Rockson Dafeamekpor
Hon. Rockson Dafeamekpor

Hon. Rockson Nelson Dafeamekpor has cautioned President Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s Minister designates ahead of vetting.

According to the South Dayi Member of Parliament, the persons nominated by President Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo to become ministers of state must be very very careful about making unguarded comments about  their Vetting.

Hon. Rockson Nelson Dafeamekpor also added that the membership of the vetting committee as constituted by the current Parliament has never happened in the history of Ghana and that this is the first of it kind.

The law maker explained that, the current Parliamentary vetting committee which is made up of twenty six (26) Member has thirteen (13) NDC MPs and (13) NPP MPs with a 12:13 vote pattern must make every pompous Nominee sober.

In a tweet, Hon. Rockson Nelson Dafeamekpor said;

“Let those Nominees who are making unguarded comments about their Vetting be very very careful. This particular Vetting Committee has never been seen in our history. A 13:13 membership with a 12:13 vote pattern must make every pompous Nominee sober. Things won’t be pleasant ohhh”

ALSO READ: 2020 Election Petition: Rockson Dafeamekpor questions the deployment of Soldiers inside the Supreme Court room


On 21st January, 2021, President Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo submitted a list of his Ministerial nominees to the Parliament of Ghana.

As required by law, the Parliament of Ghana under the leadership of RT. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsley Bagbin has put together a 26 Member vetting committee to vet the President’s nominees.

Below is the list of Persons Nominated by President Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo to become Ministers in his second term.

  1. National security – Albert Kan Dapaa
  2. Trade and Industry – Alan Kyeremateng
  3. Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta
  4. Defence – Dominic Nitiwu, MP
  5. Interior – Hon. Ambrose Dery, MP
  6. Foreign Affairs and Regional integration – Shirey Ayorkor Botchwey
  7. Attorney General and Minister for Justice – Godfred Dame
  8. Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Development – Hon. Dan Botwe
  9. Parliamentary Affairs – Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu
  10. Communications and Digitalisation – Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful.
  11. Food and Agriculture – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
  12. Energy – Hon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh
  13. Education – Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwunm
  14. Health – Hon, Kwaku Agyemang Manu
  15. Lands and Natural Resources – Hon. samuel Abdulai Jinapor, MP
  16. Roads and Highways –
  17. Works and Housing – Hon. Francis Asenso Boakye, MP
  18. Transport – Kwaku Ofori Asiamah
  19. Fisheries and Aquaculture Development – Hon. Mavis Hawa Koomson, MP
  20. Railway Development – Hon. John Peter Amewu
  21. Sanitation and Water Resources – Cecilia Abena Dapaah
  22. Tourism, Arts and Culture – Awal Mohammed
  23. Gender, Children and Sodal Protection – Sårah Adwoa Safo, MP
  24. Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs – Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP
  25. Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation – Hon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, MP
  26. Employment and Labour Relations – Hon. Ignatius Baffuor Awuah, MP
  27. Information – Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP
  28. Youth and Sports – Hon. Mustapha Yussif, MP
  29. Public Enterprises – Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, MP
  30. Works and Housing (Minister of State) – Hon. Freda Prempeh, MP

Below is President Nana Addo-Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s Nominees for Regional Minister Positions

  1. Ahafo – George Boakye
  2.  Ashanti – Simon Osei-Mensah
  3. Bono East – Adu Gyan
  4. Central – Justina Marigold Assan
  5. Eastern – Seth Acheampong
  6. Greater Accra – Hon. Heny Quartey, MP
  7. Northern – Shani Alhassan Saibu
  8. North East – Yidana Zakaria
  9. Oti – Joseph Makubu
  10. Savannah – Saeed Muhazu Jibril
  11. Uppercase East – Stephen Yakubu
  12. Upper West – Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih
  13. Volta – Dr. Archibald Yao Letsa
  14. Western – Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP
  15. Western North – Richard Obeng
  16. Bono – Justina Owusu-Banahene

 SOURCE: Talkingdrum.com.gh


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.